Oops, I'm Pregnant Again!

A SAHM's take on pregnancy, babies, beauty,and life as a baby making machine.

How Will You OWN 2011?


 

OWN, the Oprah Winfrey Network is a multi-platform media company designed to entertain, inform and inspire people to live their best lives. OWN will debut on January 1, 2011, in approximately 80 million homes on what is currently the Discovery Health Channel. During the OWN launch weekend, viewers will have the chance to see a little of everything OWN has to offer. OWN programming includes original series and specials, all focused on entertaining, informing and inspiring people to live their best lives.

I was given the opportunity by SheSpeaks.com to preview exclusive content being aired on Oprah Winfrey‘s new network, OWN. (Much to my dismay, I found out that OWN is replacing The Discovery Health Channel….A network I actually watched pretty regularly!) So initially, I was none to happy with the Queen of Talk,lol…But you gotta love Oprah, so I quickly forgave her. Plus, all the childbirth shows have only made me more nervous about Xander’s upcoming birth, anyway, so perhaps a programming change of pace is a good thing! But I DID find out that OWN will be airing Deliver Me! So I still get my childbirth drama fix! Haha…

 

Anyway, I got to watch a new show being aired this Friday, Your OWN Show: Oprah’s Search For The Next TV Star. I have to be completely honest, I was not very impressed with this program. It was somewhat entertaining, but the concept of the show seemed pretty overdone and recycled. (Think Next Food Network Star.) I didn’t really feel that the competitors were overly likable, either. They weren’t BAD, but no one really seemed to stand out as a rising star. I DID however like that the show is co-hosted by Carson Kressley, who I absolutely adore. He was literally the most colorful person on this program’s debut episode.

That being said, despite  my lack of enthusiasm for this one particular program, I think that the overall programming choices offered on the OWN network seem like a well-balanced and entertaining line-up that most women will enjoy. They will be offering programs featuring Oprah regulars like Dr. Phil, Dr. Oz, Suze Orman, etc. There will also be original content that offers inspiration and self-discovery, as well as helpful tips for managing everyday life and relationships, like “Miracle Detectives”, “In the Bedroom With Dr. Laura Berman“, “Oprah Presents Master Class”, and “Anna and Kristina’s Grocery Bag.” And yes, for those of us who will miss Discovery Health, OWN will be airing “Deliver Me” and “Mystery Diagnosis.” 🙂

So I plan on checking it out! I have never been a huge Oprah fan, but I DO respect her and what she stands for, so I will definitely give the OWN network a shot!

January 4, 2011 - Posted by | My Story

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

