Oops, I'm Pregnant Again!

A SAHM's take on pregnancy, babies, beauty,and life as a baby making machine.

What A Week! Snot, Sneezes, and Kidney Stones…(Probably)


Wow…So I feel like I have been put through the proverbial wringer this week….And it’s only very early on Wednesday! At least I think it’s Wednesday. Yes, it has been one of those weeks!

Last week, everyone in my house (except for me) came down with a hellacious, nasty cold. Poor Kyle was coughing like crazy, Sophie has been so full of snot and sneezes that I am shocked she hasn’t morphed into a huge booger, and Dan has been under the weather, too. And Dan, like most men, cannot handle even the slightest cold. He literally turns into a big baby. If I weren’t so darn preggo and in pain myself, I would almost think it endearing,lol….

And now I have the cold, too. Ughhh….Plus, I am in so much pain for some reason. I am worried because pain and pressure of this intensity didn’t happen until month 8 or 9 with Sophie….I am only 26-ish weeks right now. It seems a bit early for this. My back is absolutely killing me. It hurts to walk. Standing up hurts. I have awful leg cramping.  And the pelvic and abdominal pain and pressure is almost unbearable. It literally feels like there is a concrete block inside of me that is pushing downward at all times. I don’t know if this is normal or not, but Xander is active and moving around just fine, although it seems my ribs have turned into monkey bars for him lately.

I am a bit worried, but I have had no bleeding or leakage at all….I will definitely mention the above symptoms at my next doctor’s appointment. Or maybe I will call the office sooner, if this pain persists. And to make matters worse, I still need to go get my sugar test done…Ughhhh

So on top of all this, Dan  had to go get a drug screen and routine physical. Of course the drug screen came back fine, but apparently, they found microscopic traces of blood in his urine, and are refusing to clear him until he gets something faxed from his doctor with a diagnosis. Well, the problem here is that his current employer offers no insurance, and my hubby has no coverage. Me and the kids do, of course, but he is uninsured.  AND he is one of those stubborn men that never goes to the doctor. So he HAS no regular doctor. And we don’t have the money right now to pay out of pocket for a visit. So he HAS to go, but I just don’t know who will agree to see him, other than the ER, and that will be soooo expensive.

Yeah, I’m stressing. He also has been having odd symptoms, like back pain, chills, nausea… They told him twice now that it sounds like kidney stones. YIKES! Or possibly a kidney infection…Which would not be good. That’s not something you can leave untreated. You kinda need your kidneys,lol. A friend suggested it might be prostate related, so I had him ask about that, and they said based on symptoms, probably not. I don’t know if that’s good news or bad news. Which is worse? So we have to figure out how to get him seen so he can get whatever is going on treated. So much going on at once. When it rains, it pours, I suppose!

I am really scared for him. I know people who have had kidney stones, and they sound just awful. But apparently, that’s what they’re thinking it probably is. He drinks just about no water, has at least a pot of coffee everyday at work, and eats a TON of sugary junk. Plus the fact that he isn’t experiencing pain or burning with urination makes them lean in the stone direction, too. I guess you don’t have much urinary pain until it’s ready to pass, and that can take awhile, but that sporadic back pain is normal.

And of course since I am a worry-wart, I am afraid of the much more serious possibilities, too, like cancer, kidney failure, diabetes, etc…I’m sure it’s not that serious, but until he is seen, I’m going to worry about it.

So here it is 1:25 AM and I am sitting here in pain with a heating pad behind me, and I cannot sleep. I’m too darn worried to sleep. Hopefully Sophie will take a good nap tomorrow after breakfast so Mommy can try and get some rest, too! Please everyone, keep Dan in your prayers. We’re both really worried. 😦

October 20, 2010 - Posted by | My Story

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

