Oops, I'm Pregnant Again!

A SAHM's take on pregnancy, babies, beauty,and life as a baby making machine.

Confused By Craigslist….What is WRONG With This Picture?!


I have posted an ad on my local Craigslist trying to rehome our Peke, Pugsley. For some reason, my ad keeps getting flagged, and I don’t understand how or why this is happening. I made sure to VERY carefully read the terms of use, as well as specific guidelines regarding pets. I am not a breeder, nor am I asking an outrageous rehoming fee. I see larger fees posted for rodents and cats than I listed for Pugs. And the ONLY reason I am asking an adoption fee at all is so we can rest assured that he goes to a home where he will be properly cared for. I have heard horror stories about really bad things happening to animals that are just “thrown away, free of charge” on classified sites…Everything from animal fighting to lab testing to just downright pure abuse and neglect. I did, however, mention that Pugs would be better off in a home free of small children. He is extremely skittish, and has been known to nip when he is around noise and sudden movement, which let’s face it, kids are FULL of. I feel that this is something a prospective owner should be aware of  BEFORE making the decision to adopt an animal, just to be sure their environment will be the best one possible for the family and the animal. Why would anyone conceal that information? The ad was worded very nicely, and it’s not like we were calling him the spawn of the devil. Just simply stated that due to his particular temperment, a home with small children may not be the best fit for him. Why would ANYONE have a problem with that?! Maybe it’s because he is a “designer breed”? (Or some ignorant people may classify him as such, although he is a pure-blooded Pekingese.) It seems a TON of people get angry at seeing small breed dogs listed. So it’s okay to adopt out countless dogs with a reputation (deserved or not) like pits or rotties, or full-blown mutts, but a pure-bred “designer doggy” is not allowed? It just seems that these so-called Craigslist Crusaders have their priorities ass-backwards….If they truly had a love for animals and didn’t want to see them unnecessarily be sent to kill-shelters, then why on earth would they waste their time and energy flagging ads that obeyed all of the rules? The goal is to find good homes for these pets and keep them OUT of the shelters. Just because Pugsley is not a good fit for my family since we have a baby and another on the way doesn’t mean he wouldn’t make a wonderful companion for someone who could offer him a less chaotic environment. I have tried rewording and reposting, and I just keep getting flagged. I don’t get it. We want to find Pugs a good home, and it seems that we may be ultimately forced to take him to a shelter because crazy people won’t allow us to try and find him the right home. This is an injustice to the poor pets that end up victimized because well-intentioned people are not “allowed” to try and rehome their pets.

September 29, 2010 - Posted by | My Story

2 Comments »

  1. Craigslist people have nothing better to do with their lives than to troll the pets pages and flag flag flag! I must say i have done my share of flagging in baby and kids section on carseats that looked terrible and just nasty and unsafe, and flagging my mother in laws pets because i just plain dont like her BUT flagging for no reason is stupid, But in pets, people dont care! There are seriously unemployed idiots that sit there all day and flag. WHY? because they have no life so they want to ruin others lives. Simple as that. Im sorry you have to deal with this and I hope your puggy can find a safe new home. And even with a rehomeing fee people can still neglect the animals. Not many people realize that people will PAY for an animal and not give a damn about it. Goodluck mama! And congrats on you baby! 🙂

    Oh i also have some giveaways going on so please feel free to check them out and enter! I have one coming up for a wiggly roll! I also will follow your blog! 🙂

    Comment by Kasey Kirby Goodnough | October 1, 2010 | Reply

    • I know…It is soooo frustrating! But some people truly have no lives. This was in the DC CL, so I think I am just going to stick to my local CL, which is considerably smaller, and isn’t as full of crazy people! I agree with flagging carseats and baby items that have been recalled…But a pet? For literally no reason? Umm…no….Anyway, I look forward to stopping by your blog! It’s always nice to meet new mommy-bloggers! I am new at this, myself!

      Comment by Brandy | October 1, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

