Oops, I'm Pregnant Again!

A SAHM's take on pregnancy, babies, beauty,and life as a baby making machine.

A Special Favorite Things Thursday. Sometimes The Best Things Aren’t Tangible.


Well, I was going to feature the Philosophy Amazing Grace line this week, but I may get to that next week. This week, a lot has happened that I am incredibly grateful for. This collection of events has truly humbled me, and touched my heart. So my favorite thing this week isn’t necessarily one given “thing”, it is more the kindness and generosity of people I have been blessed to know, as well as a few I don’t know.

Anyone who knows me and anything about my life right now knows that we have been having a very rough time financially and making ends meet. And with another baby on the way, and me not being able to work, I have been incredibly stressed-out. I literally have been crying myself to sleep everyday, just worrying about how we’re going to take care of our family. The hubby has a job that he loves, but he works long hours and his pay keeps getting shorted. He isn’t going to walk-out, because he likes his job and his coworkers, and we cannot afford for him not to be working, but the amount he is being shorted has literally made a difference in whether or not we can even afford groceries, formula, baby food, and diapers. Once all the other bills are paid, that’s it. Literally. He has mentioned this over and over to his employer, but nothing has been done about it yet, and it is killing us.

Anyone who knows me also knows that when I am able, I am always willing to help someone in need in any way I can….Whether it be babysitting their kids, donating food or money when I can, or giving baby clothes and gear to those who need it, I am always happy to do it, no strings attached. That’s just the kind of person I am. So is my husband. We always try our best to be the best people we can be, and honestly, it feels wonderful to know I’ve made even a small difference in someone’s life.

This week, things have been especially stressful…And next week looks like it will be just as hard, as all the bigger bills are due. But through all of this stress, I have been blessed with the unexpected kindness of both people I know, as well as people I don’t. First, a prize package I won from HEB and Momma Findings blog came in. It was a tote bag full of grocery items. It wasn’t much, but when your pantry is bare, anything helps. There was also a HEB gift card, but as we don’t have a HEB in Virginia, I will be sending this to my sister-in-law who lives in Texas, as she can definitely use this. So while it wasn’t much, at least I can provide my family with a meal or two that I wouldn’t have been able to otherwise.

Then, I started receiving “care packages” from a few moms I met on a CD site. They decided to send me some baby boy’s clothing, and one momma even sent me a cloth diaper. These wonderful ladies don’t know me, and had no real reason to help us out, other than out of the goodness of their hearts. This was soooo touching to me, and I promised them that as soon as we’re better off, I plan to return the favor to someone in need and “Pay It Forward.”

And to top it all off, a good friend from high school sent me a package,too. I guess she has had it laying around for a couple of months, and finally came across it and sent it. Inside were 2 cans of baby formula, which we desperately needed, and about 15-20 cloth diapers. I literally cried my eyes out after thanking her and getting off the phone with her. And this weekend, another friend is giving us 5 HUGE bags of clothing her 1 year old son has outgrown. So that’s one less thing I need to stress over. In exchange, we will be giving her items that Sophie has outgrown for her newborn daughters.

Sometimes it is easy to get caught up in the everyday stresses of life, and it’s easy to get discouraged. Sometimes it can feel like trying to be kind may get you nowhere….This week, I have been reminded in a big way that every day, we are surrounded by angels who are there to help, and the help usually comes exactly when you need it, and sometimes when you haven’t even asked for it. These angels may not have wings and halos…They may be people you’ve known all your life, or they may be people you’ve never met before. But there is one common denominator, and that is that regardless of what walk of life they come from, and how they present themselves, they are all FRIENDS. I thank God every day for the people He has blessed me with. Now if only the Paycheck Angel would come down and fix Dan’s pay, then our worries would be over…Guess I will keep praying for that one!

September 23, 2010 - Posted by | My Story

2 Comments »

  1. This was a very heart warming post you put up, and quite honest. Not a lot of mom bloggers out there are honest when they post things, and sort of makes it feel like motherhood, or just parenting in general is so glamorous and quite easy. You seem like a very loving woman and from what I can tell your readers absolutely love you the way you are. Hopefully, your husband’s job changes their mind and has the heart to help you all out. Good luck with the journey on your pregnancy, and I’ll definitely back !

    -http://iloveryu.wordpress.com
    -abby

    Comment by sugarplumyum | September 25, 2010 | Reply

    • Thanks, Abby! I am new at the whole blogging thing, but it seems to be a good outlet to get pretty much anything off of your chest…The good and the not so good. Motherhood and parenthood are wonderful, but they aren’t always easy, and to be frank, usually not glamorous! But being a SAHM is something that I am blessed enough to be able to do, and it does take sacrifices.(Which don’t always make things easy.) I figure if I am going to post, I might as well be real about it. I have friends who are new moms, and who are expecting their first babies, and I really feel like I owe it to them to be as honest as possible, you know? The life of a Mommy isn’t always easy, but it IS a very rewarding experience that will change your life in more ways than you’d ever expect. Thanks for the wonderful compliment, and for stopping by! I honestly didn’t think anyone other than a few close friends actually read my posts! Have a wonderful weekend, Momma!

      Comment by Brandy | September 25, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

