Oops, I'm Pregnant Again!

A SAHM's take on pregnancy, babies, beauty,and life as a baby making machine.

I DID it! I made a “Real” Chili The Hubby LOVED!


As I have stated in previous posts, my husband is picky…He hates veggies, and he hates anything with tomatoes. So I am always looking for ways to doctor up my dishes to make them “Dan-friendly”.

Well, we are low on groceries and need to go on grocery run badly….Yesterday, I was looking in the pantry and trying to figure out what I had the ingredients on hand to make for dinner. Ground beef? Check. Hot Italian sausage? Check. Beans? Triple check. Tomatoes? Check….Chili it is! He can deal for one day, right?

I played around with the ingredients in my head, and tried to figure out a way to make this dish palatable for my chili-hating hubby. When he came home, he commented that something smelled good. I had to break it to him that I was making one of his least favorite dishes, but that I hoped he would like it, anyway. When dinnertime finally came around, not only did he eat it, he went back for seconds and ate 2 full bowls! He said the ONLY other time that has happened with chili was back in 1988 in Springfield, Illinois at a local mom and pop restaurant his friend’s parents owned. He told me I should memorize whatever the heck I did, and that it was fantastic.  So I figured since I got such rave reviews, I would share my concoction with you all.

Ingredients

  • 2 pounds ground beef chuck
  • 1 pound bulk Hot Italian sausage
  • 1 can pinto beans
  • 1 can black beans
  • 1 (15 ounce) can red kidney beans
  • 1 (28 ounce) cans diced tomatoes with juice
  • 1 cup instant mashed potato flakes (for thickening and texture)
  • 1 large yellow onion, chopped
  • 3 stalks celery, chopped
  • 1 green bell pepper, seeded and chopped
  • 1 red bell pepper, seeded and chopped
  • 2 green chile peppers, seeded and chopped
  • 6 slices of cooked, crumbled bacon
  • 4 cubes beef bouillon
  • 1 12 oz can of beer
  • 1/4 cup chili powder
  • 1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce
  • 2 tablespoons  minced garlic
  • 1 tablespoon dried oregano
  • 2 teaspoons ground cumin
  • 2 teaspoons hot pepper sauce (I like Louisiana Crystal sauce!)
  • 1 teaspoon dried basil
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon ground black pepper
  • 2 teaspoons cayenne pepper
  • 1 teaspoon paprika
  • 2 tablespoons brown sugar
  • 1 (10.5 ounce) bag corn chips such as Fritos
  • 1 (8 ounce) package shredded Cheddar cheese

Directions

  1. Heat a large stock pot over medium-high heat. Crumble the ground chuck and sausage into the hot pan, and cook until evenly browned. Drain off excess grease.
  2. Pour in all of the beans, diced tomatoes. Add the onion, celery, green and red bell peppers, chile peppers, crumbled bacon,bouillon, and beer. Season with chili powder, Worcestershire sauce, garlic, oregano, cumin, hot pepper sauce, basil, salt, pepper, cayenne, paprika, and sugar. Stir to blend, then cover and simmer over low heat for at least 2 hours, stirring occasionally.
  3. After 2 hours, taste, and adjust salt, pepper, and chili powder if necessary. The longer the chili simmers, the better it will taste. Add mashed potato flakes and stir. Remove from heat and serve, or refrigerate, and serve the next day.
  4. To serve, ladle into bowls, and top with corn chips and shredded Cheddar cheese.

**This can also be cooked in a slow cooker with wonderful results. Just make sure to brown the ground chuck and sausage first!**

September 16, 2010 - Posted by | Food, Glorious Food! My recipes and reviews

2 Comments »

  1. This sounds SOOO delicious! I’m definitely going to have to try it sometime soon (it’s still a bit too hot in Cali to be making chili lol). Glad your picky hubby liked it! hahaha

    Comment by Monkey Momma | September 16, 2010 | Reply

  2. My hubby LOVES chili and is still in a quest to find the ‘best’ one. He is also very picky… so I might give this a try. Thanks for sharing! 🙂

    Comment by Mumsy | September 17, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

