Oops, I'm Pregnant Again!

A SAHM's take on pregnancy, babies, beauty,and life as a baby making machine.

Almond Joy’s Got Nuts…


And so does Oops! Wow, we really  can’t keep calling the baby Oops! We had our 20 week ultrasound today, and aside from the office being an hour behind, it went wonderfully. The sonographer, Marty, is super-nice, and she remembered us from my pregnancy with Sophie.

She started doing the anatomy scan, as that is the true purpose of the 20 week ultrasound. No, it isn’t JUST to find out the sex of a baby. That is actually secondary. She checked the heart, which was beating a strong 140 beats per minute and all 4 chambers and the blood-flow looked perfect. The head and stomach also looked great. When she got to the femur, THERE IT WAS. She generally saves the gender for last, but Oops was proud of his manhood and was in the perfect position to get a VERY clear view of his little (or should I say disproportionately HUGE) boy parts! I am not a sonographer, and usually have no idea what I am seeing on the screen, but I just blurted out, “Wow, that’s a really big penis!”  She laughed and said, “I always check that last, but there’s no mistaking this one! Yes, it is!” 

We also got some really good profile shots, and his little face looked as perfect as it could as a blackish-gray fuzzy image. Cute little button nose and all! Now, I was originally hoping for another girl. I mean, we just bought all kinds of girly stuff for Sophie, and I was hoping to save some money by recycling it. Unfortunately, that just isn’t going to happen…Unless I want to give Oops a complex by dressing him in pink and putting bows in his hair, should he have any!

But then, after seeing him, I had a change of heart. That’s my little man…And with him and Sophie only being a year apart, it definitely has its advantages. If anyone gives her a hard time at school, Oops will be there to protect her. If some boy breaks her heart, I am sure Oops will defend his big sister’s honor with a vengeance. Plus, 2 teenage girls would have been quite the challenge! So now Dan only needs to invest in one shotgun,lol. Plus, little boys always tend to love their mommies the best, and I really can’t complain about having a little momma’s boy and a snuggle bug! Sophie is a Daddy’s girl, through and through, but more than likely, Oops will be my little buddy.

So I am thrilled to be having another little boy…I can dress Sophie up and keep her prissy and girly, and we can play ball, make mud pies, and catch frogs and bugs with Oops! Now if only I knew what to name the little booger!

September 10, 2010 - Posted by | My Story

3 Comments »

  1. Congrats! I’m so excited you’re having a boy! I bet Kyle is happy! hahaha You’re right, too – him and Sophie being so close in age will be good for them 🙂

    Keep us updated on what you and Dan decide on for a name! Good luck with it, also! lol When I was pregnant and didn’t know the sex, I could think of nothing but girl names – then I found it was a boy and was totally screwed lol It took FOREVER to pick and name and we ended up changing it to Bryce right before the babyshower! ❤

    Comment by Gabby | September 11, 2010 | Reply

  2. congrats on your new little one it being so obvious what you are having…

    Comment by Anjanette/MommaYoung | September 13, 2010 | Reply

  3. Wonderful congratulations

    Comment by DANIELLE WALDO | September 22, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

