Oops, I'm Pregnant Again!

A SAHM's take on pregnancy, babies, beauty,and life as a baby making machine.

What They Don’t Tell You About Pregnancy And Dreams


So I woke up this morning wanting to wring my husband’s neck, in tears, in a sweat, and my heart was pounding so hard I could feel it in my eyeballs, literally. Did Dan DO anything? No. But try telling ME that at 7:30 this morning. I have noticed that while pregnant, I tend to have the most bizarre and often incredibly vivid dreams. At times they feel so real that it can take a few minutes to snap back to reality.

I had the most horrible dream that my husband was still in love with his psychotic, (yes, really) alcoholic, cheating ex-wife. This woman is truly awful. She cheated on him with his best friend throughout their entire, albeit short, marriage, and she is diagnosed with severe mental problems. She is so crazy that she actually spent the first year or so he and I were together trying to sabatoge our relationship. In her mind, she didn’t want him, but God forbid he be happy with anyone else.  She is truly a sociopath. And he despises her. (I’m still shaken-up and have to keep reminding myself of that,lol)

So anyway, here I have this unprovoked, incredibly vivid dream where he confesses he is still in love with her, and that he has been having an affair with her. Which of course would never in a million years happen. It just wouldn’t. Especially not with her. I have the type of husband that forgoes going out to the bar because he WANTS to be a family man, and he would rather come home to me. For that, I am very grateful.

But for some reason, during pregnancy, I experience the most horrific nightmares, and I wake up questioning everything I know to be true, if only for a brief time. Am I going to call him at work and yell at him? No. He hasn’t done anything. But this morning, I did a little bit of research on bad dreams and pregnancy, and to my surprise, I found that this unpleasant phenomenon is actually quite common. Apparently the crazy hormones during pregnancy can actually make dreams more vivid, and apparently can make them more traumatic. Whether it be about a partner cheating or abandoning, about losing the baby or having it come out either deformed or monster-like, or even giving giving birth to kittens! It reminds me of the old Cosby episode where Cliff gives birth to a ginormous hoagie and a 2 liter of orange soda, and Martin gives birth to sailboats. (Oops, I think I just gave away my age here!)  Apparently all of these things are not just normal, they are common.

So while I would love to hunt down that no-earlobe having, flat-chested, schitzophrenic, troll look-alike wench and give her a good lashing, I can’t justify doing so, sadly enough, because it was just a dream. No matter how vivid and detailed, no matter how real it seemed…It was only a pregnancy induced nightmare. And one that would never, ever happen, at that. I mean, let’s face it…and not to sound conceited, as I am far from it…Why would the hubby settle for Jell-O when he already has creme brulee at home? Can you tell this nightmare has me all shaken up,lol? I’m just grateful for Google and the multitude of pregnancy message boards, etc, that have reassured me that I am not losing my mind, and that these kinds of dreams, no matter how awful, are just one of the unspoken and un-thought of effects of carrying a child.

So ladies…when you wake up in a panic and want to kill your husband, or you’re convinced your child will be born with horns and a tail, or you even think you might be stuck giving birth to a tasty treat from your favorite delicattessen, please remember it’s just your hormones playing tricks on you…So relax, laugh about it, know your baby is bound to be just fine, and cut your poor husband a break, cause chances are, he has done nothing to deserve the dirty looks he is bound to receive after one of these nightmares.

September 9, 2010 - Posted by | What They DON'T Tell You About Pregnancy-The Nitty Gritty

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

