Oops, I'm Pregnant Again!

A SAHM's take on pregnancy, babies, beauty,and life as a baby making machine.

In The Spirit Of Bacony Goodness, My Baked Potato Soup Recipe


I just won a week’s worth of bacon via Facebook from the nice folks at the Bar-S company! I am SO excited about my prize, because for one, come on…Who doesn’t LOVE bacon?! Bacon just makes everything better! I have been sitting here pondering how I would use my prize once it arrives! On the absolute tippy-top of my list is my baked potato soup. I am not usually much of a soup person. I much prefer stews and goulashes, and things with more substance that give you that “sticks to your ribs” feeling. (Although, I do have to admit, I am a sucker for the baked potato soup served at O’Charley’s!)

I have spent time perfecting what I believe to be one of the yummiest, most sinful comfort foods, in my humble opionion. Baked potato soup just has all of the elements I look for when I am craving something rich and savory. And not to hoot my own horn, but mine is damn good! Probably the best I have had anywhere!

Here is my recipe. As always, tweak to suit your personal tastes. This version is a heart attack in a pot. I am not going to lie. It is NOT for the health-conscious! But it is sooooooo good. I only make it a few times a year, but it is a dish I always look forward to.

Brandy’s Baked Potato Soup

Ingredients

  • 2 potatoes (or more, depending on desired texture)
  • 1 stick butter. Yes, I said a whole stick, and yes, I said real butter. It makes a difference!
  • 2 cups chopped white onion( I use onion powder)
  • 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
  • 4 cups chicken stock (I use Swanson’s for best flavor.)
  • 2 cups heavy cream
  • 1/4 cup cornstarch
  • 1 1/2 cups instant mashed potato flakes…or more
  • 1 tablespoon  salt (Sea salt is best!)
  • 3/4 teaspoon ground black pepper
  • 1  teaspoon dried basil
  • 1/2 teaspoon white pepper
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried thyme
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 1/2 cups shredded Cheddar cheese
  • 1/2 cup grated parmesan cheese
  • 8 ounces bacon – cooked and crumbled. Or more!
  • 2 green onions, chopped (totally optional.)
  • dash of hot sauce, if desired. I like Louisiana Crystal Sauce!
  • And I always use 1 teaspoon Emeril’s Original Essence!

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees F (200 degrees C). Bake potatoes for 1 hour, or until done. Set aside to cool.
  2. Melt 1/3 of the butter in a 3 quart saucepan over medium heat. Saute onions until tender and golden brown. Stir in flour, and cook 5 minutes to make a roux. Pour in chicken stock and water. Add cornstarch and mashed potato flakes. Season with salt, pepper, white pepper,basil and thyme. Bring to a boil, reduce heat, and simmer for 5 minutes.
  3.  Dice the potatoes into 1/2 inch cubes, and stir into soup, along with the heavy cream. Add your cheeses, reserving a small amount of cheddar for garnishing.Add remaining butter.Simmer for 15 to 20 minutes, or until thick.(I usually let it simmer for an hour, and I tweak the seasonings to taste during this time.) Add most of the crumbled bacon into the soup and mix well. Spoon into bowls, and garnish with shredded cheese, bacon and chopped green onion, if desired.
August 24, 2010 - Posted by | Food, Glorious Food! My recipes and reviews | , , , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. OMG…that looks soooooo delicious!!!

    Comment by Robyn | August 24, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

