Oops, I'm Pregnant Again!

A SAHM's take on pregnancy, babies, beauty,and life as a baby making machine.

Putting All The Old Wive’s Tales To The Test…Plus Intelligender


Okay, so if you didn’t already know this about me, I HATE surprises…Hate as in obsess over and torment myself mercilessly in hopes of trying to uncover whatever the surprise may be. So of course, being pregnant again is a HUGE surprise, and I have been going nuts over what Oops’s gender might be. (Yes, we are really calling the baby Oops for now!)  I am currently between 18-19 weeks pregnant, and my doctor has not yet scheduled my 20 week ultrasound. Needless to say, the suspense is killing me!

Over the past few weeks, I have been reading up on old wives tales to determine gender. Here are some of the more common myths, and how they apply (or don’t apply) to me:

1. Carrying a baby high is a girl, low is a boy

Okay, honestly, I am JUST starting to show a baby bump…It isn’t apparent enough yet to determine this.
2. A boy’s heart rate will be under 140, a girl’s is over.

First ultrasound was in the 160’s, first doppler in the 160’s, 160’s again, and then 143. Hmmm….Maybe a girl?
3. Take a necklace with a pendant and hold it over your hand, a circle is a girl and back and forth is a boy.

I used my wedding rings, and the moved in a circular motion over my belly. It did the same over my hand.
4. Craving something sweet is a girl, sour is a boy.

Okay, I HAVE been craving more sweets than normal, but mostly I have been craving meat. LOTS of meat. I am a carnivore!
5. Early morning sickness means it’ll be a girl.

JUST early morning?! How about morning, noon, and night?
6. You sleep with the pillow to the north it’ll be a boy, to the south will be a girl.

I am not even sure what this means….
7. If your husband/significant other puts on weight it will be a girl.

Anyone who knows Dan is probably laughing here…Dan doesn’t gain weight. With the amount of junk he eats, he should be 400 lbs. But he is a steady 165-170. Lucky bastard!
8. If your feet are colder now you’ll be having a boy.

Ummm….I don’t have this problem unless I am in the kitchen. We have A/C vents in there that blow frigid air at foot/calf level. That is the only time my tootsies are frozen!
9. Your urine is bright yellow means you’ll have a boy.

Okay…My pee is very odd colors with this pregnancy…I wouldn’t say bright yellow, though. I would say more of an orangey, darkish color. Don’t know what that is supposed to mean, other than possible dehydration!
10. If your nose is spreading during the pregnancy it’ll be a boy, stays the same it’s a girl.

My nose? I think it’s the same…
11. If you look like a basketball it will be a boy, if you look like a watermellon you are having a girl.

Again, not enough of a bump to really tell.
12. craving fruit is a girl, craving meat is a good sign to having a boy.

What if you’re craving both? Does that mean a hermaphrodite is in our future?
13. If you have scrawny looking hair, it’ll be a girl. Luscious hair is a boy.

My hair…My poor, poor hair! Thank God I have a TON of very thick, full hair! It is shedding like mad. In my fingers, in the brush, in the shower…It’s a wonder I’m not bald!

Chinese Gender Prediction Chart:

I have also done what is known as the Chinese Gender Chart. I am not 100% sure how it works, but I think it takes the mother’s age at the time of conception, as well as the month of conception. If both numbers are even, it’s a girl. If they are odd or mixed, it’s a boy.

So according to their system, if I conceived at age 28 in the 4th month of the year, we should be expecting a GIRL.

Ph Test Method of Gender Prediction:

Okay…I have done this one a few times, and all with the same result. You can supposedly determine your baby’s gender by doing a simple Ph test on your urine.  To do this, I dragged the hubby out to WalMart and bought a Ph testing kit, similar to those used to test the levels in a swimming pool.

You have to measure the proper amount of urine, and add 5 drops of the Ph testing solution. If the Ph is HIGH, it means boy. If it is low, it means GIRL. Here are my results, as well as a test done on tap water as a control, just so I knew the stuff was working!

No real change in color, indicating a LOW Ph. (GIRL!)

Ph test done on ordinary tap water.

So according to this method, we should be thinking PINK!

Now here’s where things get a little kooky…The Cabbage Method!

Red Cabbage Gender Prediction Method:

Okay, so this method is a little odd. I felt strange going into WalMart and buying a red cabbage, Ph tests, and an Intelligender kit. I’m sure the cashier was a bit confused!

I read about this method on a pregnancy message board. Here is how it works. You will need 1 red cabbage, which can be bought for a mere 88 cents! It HAS to be a RED cabbage, though.

Then I had my lovely assistant chop the cabbage into several chunks, like so:

Here is Kyle, my 10 year old’s reaction to the fact that Mommy had to “pee on cabbage”,lol

(No, you don’t really pee ON the cabbage,lol)

Once you have the cabbage cut into smallish chunks, you put it into a stock pot full of water, and you let it boil…Mine boiled for probably 20 minutes or so, and I had to puke twice in the process, as I despise the smell of cabbage. It smells like farts and dirty socks to me!

Once it has boiled, remove the whole pot from the heat and let sit for 10 minutes or so.

Take equal parts cabbage water and urine. The cabbage water will be a purple color, almost like a concord grape juice. You then mix the pee and cabbage water together. If it turns a deeper purple, it means GIRL. If it turns reddish or pinkish, it means BOY. Here are my results:

The one on the left is straight cabbage water. On the right, it’s mixed with my pee.

So according to this myth, we may be having a BOY. Notice the peed in cabbage water is kind of a magenta color, as opposed to the purple of just the cabbage water alone.

And Finally, Intelligender:

I actually used Intelligender while pregnant with Sophie. It was dead on accurate. I do not have a photo handy, but the test turned a bright orange, which indicates GIRL. If it is a greenish, it means BOY.These kits are pretty neat, and cost around 30.00 each. They can be found at several retailers, like Rite Aid, Walgreen’s, Target, etc… I am not 100% sure HOW they work. Apparently, they are patent pending, so the Intelligender company isn’t revealing their secrets just yet! Here is what the kit looks like:

It comes with instructions,( which you need to follow CAREFULLY!) a dropper to measure your urine, a test kit with their “secret ingredient” inside, and a nice, plastic dixie type cup to pee in.

I took one Intelligender test the same day I did the cabbage. Turns out, I MAY have thrown off the results, because unbeknownst to me, I had a bacterial infection down there at the time. I am including the results here, though, as when I tested again this morning after being free of infection and antibiotics, the results were the same.

Taken July 30, 2010

Taken August 20, 2010

I am assuming this is a boy result as well, although it does have an orangey tint to it as well…So I really am not positive, but it looks like BOY to me.

So who knows? Maybe Oops IS a hermaphrodite!!!

My Conclusion:

So as you can see, there are a myriad of interesting ways to try and predict the gender of your baby. For me, the results are VERY mixed.Most, if not all, of the wive’s tales say GIRL, as does the Ph test, but the cabbage and Intelligender are telling me BOY.  So I guess there really is no substitution for an ultrasound by a skilled tech.  But if you are impatient like me, these are at least fun ways to kill some time while you wait for the 20 week mark! I felt like a scientist the whole time, and I have to say, I hope I never have to play with so much urine again!

So what do we want, you might ask? I really want another girl. BAD. We already have TONS of girl stuff for Sophie, and we really wouldn’t have to buy much of anything at all if Oops is a girl. If it’s a boy, we’re screwed,lol..And we don’t have the money or the room for all new baby stuff…

Dan has been SURE it’s a girl since the day we found out we’re pregnant again. He even refers to the baby as “she” and “her” all the time. Hey, he has a 50% chance of being right!

What about good old female intuition? I don’t really HAVE a strong feeling here, although I think it will be a boy, just so things are more difficult!  Guess we have a week or so before we know for sure!

August 20, 2010 - Posted by | What They DON'T Tell You About Pregnancy-The Nitty Gritty

2 Comments »

  1. Don’t say OPPS is a hermaphrodite … my gosh 😉 Lucky I love you and you well enough to know this is a JOKE!!!!

    Comment by Erin | August 21, 2010 | Reply

  2. LOL…Well, based on the very mixed results, it might just be a he-she!

    Comment by Brandy | August 21, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

